July 2016 New User 3D Art Contest “Portrait Rendering” – WIP Thread

Comments

• ewcarman said:

1. Changed her eyes so they are looking at the rose. It was suggested that they may be a little crossed, but they were aligned to factory specs. So I crossed them a bit and that seems to have helped.

Nice image. And it is progressing very well. I'm not sure if it was the direction of the eyes as maybe their expressiveness. Forgive my possible ignorance, as I am by no means an artist, but they seem a little dead to me. Kind of dollish. I think the direction of the eyes is fine. I feel like she needs some brow movement or some sort of other eye area pose change. Something subtle maybe, but something. Again, I am far from knowledgeable, so take my suggestion with a grain of salt. Or just tell me to shut up and mind my business. LOL
  • veeters2002veeters2002 Posts: 51
    edited July 2016

Thanks to everyone for the feedback! Here are the adjustments I've made thus far...

1) Toned down the back spotlight on the brick wall behind her. It was a little washed out looking.

2) Added a little soft lighting to the right (her right) of her face to soften the shadows a bit.

3) The flowers on her head piece were way too bright and were distracting people from viewing her face. I still wanted these white, just not as bright. Being that I needed to add more light to the same side of her face, this was a little challenging. Ended up leaving it as is in the render but hand brushed a little gray tone into them in Gimp.

4) Added the rim light as two people suggested. Definitely helps make her pop from the background.

5) Fiddled with the DOF, which I was able to get to work OK but it kind of made it hard to tell that there were stairs behind her, which I wanted to preserve. So, instead I added a little gaussian blur to that area and adjusted the light a little.