NEW USER Contest June 2014 “WIP Thread”

Comments

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,040
    edited June 2014

trk48881 said:
    Using Daz 3d. Any info or feedback on "Relaxing Evening". Is this the right idea for this month's contest. I'm a newbie all the way around the board so trying to figure this all out. Posting/blogging is all new to me...thanks....

I think the color of the skin is a bit greenish/bluish. I know that some of it could be the lighting but it still looks off a bit. Perhaps because it is so uniform.

For software agnostic suggestions, I would suggest that you think about what motivates the lighting on the figure. The lit pool is one source of light obviously, but it is behind her, so you may be able to find a way to add a rim light to provide a sliver of light along her body that is similar in color to the pool light. Something else to think about regarding the lighting is where is the light that lights her face coming from? Is this an indoor pool? Is she facing a window that moonlight could stream into that lights her face? A bluish/white-ish light could suggest moonlight and at the same time get rid of the sickly look to the skin.

I don't know what your budget is, but DAZ sells wet maps which look like wet skin. These may suggest wet skin a bit more convincingly. There are a couple of them:
    http://www.daz3d.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=wet+maps&x=0&y=0
    If they're not in the budget, you may be able to brighten the highlights on the skin and reduce the spread of the effect. It's a bit of a highwire act, because if you go too far the skin can look like plastic.

I don't know how to do it in Studio, but you could also add refraction to the water. Hopefully someone else can provide pointers on how to do that in Studio.