Wanting to make 3Delight look more photorealistic

desfendesfen Posts: 75

Hi I'm new to Daz and to rendering in general, and my main goal is to try to achieve photorealistic results. And I don't have an nvidia GPU, so i guess i'm forced to use 3Delight.

So I've been trying it out, and I guess 3Delight is known for being kinda primitive lol. I'm trying out the Barefoot Dancer tutorial and I tried a test render with a Max Ray Trace Depth of 32, though the result looks pretty abyssmal.

And I'm hoping to learn more about 3Delight to see if there's a way to make things look more photorealistic. I put aside the human model first, I firstly wanna get the wall behind her looking right. I think its supposed to be a pretty good diffuse Lambertian reflecting surface.

And I don't mind forgoing those types of approximate calculations for "brute-force" ray-tracing, I don't mind waiting longer if brute-forcing can produce good results.

yeah so thanks for reading and thanks for any assistance

Post edited by desfen on

Comments

• GordigGordig Posts: 9,915

Paging @Sven Dullah to the thread.

• desfendesfen Posts: 75

Gordig said:

Paging @Sven Dullah to the thread.

hey thanks

• Sven DullahSven Dullah Posts: 7,621

First, using the standard DS 3DL, you need to add a GI light that supports bounce light, iti's not automatically calculated. In practise, you're limited to using the OmniUberEnvironment(2) in bouncelight mode or indirect light mode. And, even then, you will get only diffuse ray bounces, the UE2 is diffuse light only. Which is why I use scripted pathtracing;) 

Next, not. every shader supports diffuse roughness, for example the dz default shader has no diffuse roughness slider, so probably using a fixed value of 0, which in practise would come close to Lambert diffuse, although just guessing here. The AoA SSS and OmUberSurface shaders support diffuse roughness.