May 2016 New User 3D Art Contest "Action & Props" - WIP

Comments

• LinwellyLinwelly Posts: 5,802
    tcmeehan said:

Hi everyone! 

Mendoman, nice render!  I wasn't able to see the monster's hand either.  Might be hard to pull off with that area being out of focus.

VortigensBane,  When I was working with motion blur I tried to use Iray and the camera settings you refered to and I didn't have any luck.  Not to say it doesn't work, because I am really new to this and could have missed something, but it could be that DAZ Studio's implementation of Iray doesn't allow for it yet.

Wonderland, I agree with what you said. I tried to mess around in Photoshop but came to the sad conclusion that my photshop skills are pretty lacking.  Eventually I would like to start using postwork to enhance my renders but for now I am just going to focus on learning more about DAZ studio.

As far as my entry for this month.  I have decided to go with my volleyball scene because it seems to have received a more positive response from everyone here.  Linwelly,  I ajusted the spiker's hips to show a little more of the back leg.  Is this enough?  Bungle, I tried to make the pose on the spiker's  left hand look more natural. Also, I changed the position of the other player's legs to make it look less like she is falling. Her pose is designed to help fill in the dead space under the net so I don't have too many options here.  I changed the lighting to try to show off the poses but the shadows are still not very dramatic. This weekend I'm going to mess with the light some more and see if back lighting the scene would be more dramatic.  Lastly, I adjusted the surface parameters of the spiker's skin to try to get a little gloss from sweat.  Any suggestions would be welcome!  I have some time this weekend to work on it before the deadline.

I'm already looking forward to next month's challenge!

This looks really nice! the little twis makes a good difference I think. Very well done.

dHandle said: