Is this a known Issue in DS4.5Pro? (solved)

JaderailJaderail Posts: 0

If you set the Parameters for a item to Visable in Render Off but Cast Shadows ON you get Nothing? No Item and No Shadow? I'm a bit miffed, I have a idea that was perfect for. Why have both if one KILLS the other?

Post edited by DAZ_bfurner on

Comments

• niccipbniccipb Posts: 483
    edited December 1969

Hi Jaderail...

That's not anything different in 4.5 as any earlier version. You need to apply UberSurface2 or I believe PwSurface (I don't have the Pw shaders so not sure of the right one)

In US2 scroll down the parameters and turn Fantom to On for the surfaces that you want to be invisible but cast shadows.

Hope this helps... nicci :)

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

I'll give that a shot, I have both. I've never done it before. Just a bit confusing to me.

Thank you for the help.

edited December 1969

Works like a charm Thank you SO MUCH. You just opened new Ideas for me.

edited December 1969

Can't wait to see what you are up to... I mean come up with... ;-)

You can also turn off shadows for a surface in US2 like in the test image below.

nicci... :)

US2_shadow_test.jpg
    800 x 518 - 58K
    edited December 1969

Also works With Default Uber Surface. All users can do it if they Wish. ;-)

• SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

Cool idea. Never thought to use Fathom like that.

• BejaymacBejaymac Posts: 1,886
    edited December 1969

It's been like that for as long as I've been using DS (1.3 was my first version), there was a time when it worked on primitives.

• SimonJMSimonJM Posts: 5,970
    edited December 1969

This is really, truly irritating and frustrating ... I am sure I have to be doing something wrong.