Would You Be a 3D Artist Today if AI Had Existed Then?

Nyghtfall3DNyghtfall3D Posts: 760
edited April 18 in Daz AI Studio

I've been creating 3D art since 2009.  I never set out to become a 3D artist, I just never learned how to draw, sketch, or paint. 3D merely looked like the only solution to express my imagination.

I've no idea what kind of artist I'd be today if, back then, AI existed at its current level of progress, but I imagine I would not have even considered touching Daz or Poser.

EDIT: At the very least, I might've saved thousands of dollars on hardware upgrades keeping up with 3D rendering tech.  :P

EDIT2: On the other hand, I'm glad I got into 3D when I did because I can now use my experience to decide how and when to incorporate AI into my workflow for any project.

Post edited by Nyghtfall3D on

Comments

• nemesis10nemesis10 Posts: 3,273

I have had a long career both in science and graphics.  Being able to make something in Illustrator or to use Photoshop never affected my interest in actusally taking a photograph.  I have friends who are artists; my sister-in-law  is both a jeweler and actress. I don't think she finds the two aesthetic interests in opposition.

• FPFP Posts: 113
    AI exists now and ATM I have very little interest in it. "Evil is not able to create anything new, it can only distort and destroy what has been invented or made by the forces of good.” - Tolkien
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,849

this thread should be in the AI forum, you can edit your post and move it

since I use many forms of media 2D and 3D as well as editing photographs of my real house, family, pets etc for "art" and arranging furniture, figurines  and objects for said photos , I would say yes regardless of order of discovery.

• Nyghtfall3DNyghtfall3D Posts: 760

WendyLuvsCatz said:

this thread should be in the AI forum, you can edit your post and move it

Ah.  Thanks.  I didn't know we could move our own threads.  :)