What other latest/updated closed source 3D products are similar to Carrara?

Samuel S.Samuel S. Posts: 319
edited March 8 in Carrara Discussion

As a hobbyist, I learned a lot from DAZ's free and paid products, but the time has come to add the latest 3D authoring product besides Carrara. I will continue to use Carrara and other DAZ products. Hopefully, developers can pick or re-write Carrara to match the latest in the industry as I found it to be the best and easy to learn 3D authoring tool. 

I am thinking of 3Ds Max (I am currently trying out the Trial), and I also noticed that DAZ's Bridge for Max is available.

Post edited by Samuel S. on

Comments

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,880

well I do believe there are indie versions if you are considering Autodesk stuff and earn less than 100K per Annum

for me 460AUD a year, I have actually pondered it but not bitten the bullett yet

• Samuel S.Samuel S. Posts: 319

WendyLuvsCatz said:

well I do believe there are indie versions if you are considering Autodesk stuff and earn less than 100K per Annum

for me 460AUD a year, I have actually pondered it but not bitten the bullett yet

Thank you. I noticed that similar to Carrara, Blender, and Lightwave 3D's origins, it came into being around the late 1980s. I also tried Maya but it was a memory and resource hog for me.

Samuel S. said:

WendyLuvsCatz said:

Thank you. I noticed that similar to Carrara, Blender, and Lightwave 3D's origins, it came into being around the late 1980s. I also tried Maya but it was a memory and resource hog for me.

Max also seems very similar to Carrara. It lets you export content to Carrara using the Carrara Preset. Additionally, the X, Y, and Z axis directions are similar to Carrara's.

With DAZ Bridge for Max and Max's support for Carrara; it seems a good fit. I will create some videos in future.

I just found the following on the Autodesk Max Indie version.

Get Access to Autodesk 3ds Max Indie Software with Affordable Prices