Creating custom characters

Hi, I'm an PA and am interested in creating a custom character to sell. I would love to start learning about what is involved in the process as well as what I can and can not use in the Product. Can anyone tell me about any tutorials I can look up or any resources I need to be looking at, buying? I'm a beginner in character creation.

Thank you 

Comments

• crosswindcrosswind Posts: 5,431

Hi, acharyapolina

I'm a in-depth user of DS rather than a PA. I'd just like to share some info. with you:
    - AFAIK, there's no end-to-end tutorial of making Daz character product up to now but only "fragmented" tutorials in the store and youtube. And most of them are only for beginners, or intermediates at most. There're very very few PAs wanna share all knowledge base and make end-to-end tutorials.
    - as making Daz character product involves the process and techniques of character design, sculpting, morphing, texturizing, figure setup, rigging, morphs correction, ERC links / Properties setup, assets and Presets setup, so on and so forth... it could be a long workflow depending on the genre of characters, and the software you use...
    - Since you're an experienced PA in buiding Env. Props and Werables..., you've already known well about most of the processes as above-mentioned, so strengthening the domain knowledge / techniques of sculpting, morphing.. will be a good start. Then go for making your 1st character.
    - I have quite a few PA friends who specialized in various domains. One of my tricks is : chatting with them + learning on youtube + lots of lots of experiments in DS. The youtube channels of Josh Darling and SickleYield helped me a lot years ago. Self-learning is the primary way... not really necessary to buy fundamental tutorials. Like this example - https://www.daz3d.com/how-to-create-a-new-custom-daz-studio-character, ; most of the techniques in this tutorials could be searched and found on youtube....