Recommendation for 3D modeling and animation?

Hi there, been looking at Bryce 7 Pro and Carrara- understanding that they are considered older and officially discontinued developmentally, but from what I've been seeing and reading, both seem like very capable programs to create and render 3D scenes. I really like the look of the Bryce interface and Horo's work is exceptional- clearly showing what is possible after mastering the program. Until today I had not heard of Carrara but I understand from reading comments it is preferred over DAZ Studio for animation. Carrara's included content is welcomed although I kind of wish it was more nature-oriented with animals and terrain- which is where my interests lie moreso than human/fantasycharacter creation. Of course I'm sure I can find models of animals to download if I look around the DAZ shop:).

Any insight would be very welcome as I am new to this creative field but not new to visual arts, and I've always been curious about 3D modeling-you gotta start somewhere right lol? Thanks for reading and I hope to glean some wisdom from the experienced users on the DAZ forums.

Thanks and take care,

Fen

Comments

• StezzaStezza Posts: 7,811
    edited November 2023

I have heard around the traps that Carrara is not too bad for modelling stuff..

as for content as you have eluded to Carrara hasn't been updated for over 10 years so to get animals that work in it is the challenge.

I find that Hivewire animals for DS over at Renderosity work well.. the modern animals here at Daz don't work very well, you need to get the older models. Only way to find out is to dive in and see,,, Carrara is top notch for animal scenes.

enjoy the adventure

Africa.png
    800 x 600 - 852K
    Tassie Devil.png
    800 x 1040 - 2M
    Post edited by Stezza on
  • FenFen Posts: 53