I am about to go Unreal on you all!

RexRedRexRed Posts: 1,191
edited November 2023 in Unreal Discussion

Yup, I am planning in the next few days to lay down a huge chunk of cash, close to $2000 on a big Reallusion bundle and other software of theirs.

All this so I can bring my 10,000+ daz models into Unreal and play around with some animation there...

Just wondering what your thoughts are.

This is all related to using iClone 8 + Character Creator 4 + Headshot Plug-in 2 for Character Creator 4 + iPhone LIVE FACE Profile for Motion LIVE Plug-in (iClone 8) as a go between for Daz Studio and Unreal engine.

Also Unreal Live Link Plug-in for iClone 8 

...and SkinGen Premium Plug-in 4-in-1 Bundle

...and Hair & Beard Builder Combo (Extended License)

...and Digital Human Essential 3-in-1 + Wrinkle Essentials (Extended License)

...and AccuFace Profile for Motion LIVE Plug-in (iClone 8)

Anything I forgot or would need instead of what I have currently in my cart?

I am just starting out with this stuff, but I think I can learn all these new programs really fast, they all seem to be the same setup but do different things.

Am I going to go down this road to later wish I swapped out one of these programs for another one?

I would like to do mojo stuff with Lidar, and animation stuff in unreal with Daz figures hair scenes and clothing.

I would like to try the Reallusion tools to improve on mostly skin and see if I can achieve a bit of realism that way.

Their hair offerings seem interesting as well. I am mostly curious how Daz fiber body hair will export to these programs. And what about body suits?

And I don't expect geographs to work at all.

Any cautionary tales to prepare me for this new and exciting experience?

I can't wait to see my Daz assets in Unreal... It would be nice to load some Daz scenes and learn how to set them up with Unreal features.

I will make tutorials documenting this journey on my YouTube @ez3dtv channel.