Export character from Win to Mac (FaceGen)

Hello 

I am quite new to Daz and had a question about exporting a character I created to use in Daz Studio for Mac. 

I made a character on my virtual windows computer with a custom face mesh/textures from FaceGen. I did this for the explicit purpose of creating a custom face in FaceGen which i know is not available on Mac.

The virtual windows computer is very slow so I'd love to bring the character onto my Mac to use Daz Studio there. And eventually bring this character into Unreal Engine. 

Could someone walk me through the steps to achieve this? 

Thank you!

Comments

• SofaCitizenSofaCitizen Posts: 1,764
    edited September 2023

As someone that uses Daz on both Mac and Windows you don't need to do anything fancy. Just make sure you save all relevant assets to a base library that is setup the same on both machines. So, either a networked drive or an external drive that you can move from one machine to the other - or, since you are using a virtual machine, having the shared base library on a partition/mount that is available to both the bare metal OS and the virtual machine.

EDIT: missed the bit about Unreal Engine first time - I know nothing about that part so cannot help there.

Post edited by SofaCitizen on
  • Thank you! Is there any easy way to "package" them up? 

SofaCitizen said:

As someone that uses Daz on both Mac and Windows you don't need to do anything fancy. Just make sure you save all relevant assets to a base library that is setup the same on both machines. So, either a networked drive or an external drive that you can move from one machine to the other - or, since you are using a virtual machine, having the shared base library on a partition/mount that is available to both the bare metal OS and the virtual machine.

EDIT: missed the bit about Unreal Engine first time - I know nothing about that part so cannot help there.\

• felisfelis Posts: 4,189