Is my hardware strong enough?

Hi, 

I wanted to know if my hardware is strong enough to render complicated scenes in normal amount of time.

RTX 2060 6GB GPU

i7 10th gen with now 32GB RAM

2 TB SSD

Comments

• PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 10,012

Complicated scenes... No, you need twice as much VRAM (or more)

• jjoynerjjoyner Posts: 595
    edited September 2023

@elasaryakopow – Your system is similar to mine.  I have an Intel i7 9th gen with 16 GB of RAM, an RTX 2060 with  6GB VRAM, an internal SSD (boot) with 500 GB, an internal HDD with 1 TB, and an external HDD with 5 TB where almost all of my Daz Studio and Poser Content is stored.

I am a hobbyist at this stuff and now retired so I can spend as much time with it as desired.  More and more recent content that I buy in the DAZ3D store taxes my system severely if I try to view it in the viewport in Iray preview mode.  To help me with this, I have purchased several utilities in the DAZ3D store to help me lighten the load.  In somewhat decreasing order of frequency of use, the principal ones are

• Render Throttle for Iray (I love it.)
    • Scene Optimizer (I love it)
    • Billboards products and/or Billboard Maker
    • Resource Saver Shaders Collection for Iray
    • Placeholder Manager
    • Daz Studio 4 Scene Tools Sets 1 & 2
    • Instancify.

You may find one or more of these helpful to you.

Also, to keep an eye on how the memory in my GPU and CPU is being used, I've installed GPU-Z (free).  It provides much more usedul information than does the Performance tab in the Windows Task Manager.  You can download it at https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz .

Post edited by jjoyner on
  • felipe.a.v.lopesfelipe.a.v.lopes Posts: 24
    edited September 2023

Your weakest link hardware wise is your GPU as you do have a fair amount of RAM and your CPU is still pretty competent.