Cloth Simulation on skeletal meshes - Unreal 5.2

TirickTirick Posts: 228
edited August 2023 in Unreal Discussion

Some very very early tests of getting cloth simuation working 'cleanly' in Unreal on characters. I had struggled with this but recently had a breakthrough, and thought I would share some of my findings. A couple of important points:

1. I am not an expert! I am merely mucking around and searching varous sources for solutions. Far too many people to count have made videos, posts, or posed questions to get me here.

2. This was not intended to be used in real-time, although current testing shows it probably can be pushed to get there.

3. Cloth is currently limited (without a paid plugin) to single layers due to the limitations of Unreal's physics simulation process.There are additional limitations on connected materials; you cannot simulate two connected materials in a contiguous way: the cloth simulated mesh is essentially separated from the main mesh of the asset. 

4. I am also using 5.2 with my own (cludgy) control rig, which corrects the weird thigh issues (again, in my own clunky novice way, plugging crap in until it works way).

Results:

(adding a link as images appear to be broken): Cloth Simulation

Second note on the above, this is using my own terrible cloth material (using the Daz textures) so that I can get/test/build a good translucent cloth. I expect there is a material setting suitable in the Bridge assets, but the default doesn't work, and I wanted to learn anyway.

How was this completed? Oddly, quite easily after spending several hours researching and testing. 

I have myself brought the figure in and the clothing in as separate skeletal meshes. This isn't required, but it helps keep things organized. The two are put back together in a character blueprint.