Importing OBJ+MTL+JPGs

How would I go about using a model like this in Daz 3d? https://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/free-obj-model-ladies-shoes/787513

I've downloaded the OBJ, MTL and 3 JPEGs

Is there a certain folder structure I need to follow to put them into Daz 3d?

I'm new at this obviously and have found people asking similar questions but no step-by-step guide. I'll be happy to write one and post it here if I can figure it out!

Comments

• Does it line up with the base figure in a zeroed state when you import it? If not your first job would be to make each shoe do so, in a modeller or using the DS tools then export that as a new OBJ and reimport so that it lines up be default. You can then use Edit>Figure>Transfer Utility to rig it (Source set to the figure, target to the imported OBJ) - but the heel will almost certainly bend, so you are going to have to do a lot of tidying up with the weight maps and additional morphs. Another option would be to get it placed on the heels, but then pose the feet to fit inside the shoe and just parent the shoe to the nearest joint; that requirs less work, but it won't adjust at all to poses (not entirely bad as shoes like that are fairly rigid) or shape changes.

• lilweeplilweep Posts: 2,375
    edited August 2023

To answer your question:

1. Drag/drop the obj into daz, popup dialog will ask you some questions, generally i would untick the 'Read Material Library' option.  Essentially this option just reads the .mtl file and applies the settings to your model, but they are often wrong, so I don't use it.

2. If you cannot find your imported object in Viewport, then click the Frame button to locate it. Scale it under Parameters if need be to get to correct size.

3. In Surfaces tab, open up the surfaces and drag/drop your  .jpeg files into the relevant slots

• Albedo/Base Color/Diffuse map -> goes into Base Color slot