Tips on brushes would be appreciated

krickerdkrickerd Posts: 184
edited July 2023 in Art Studio

I started playing with some of Ron's brushes.  I don't think I really know how to make them look good.  Here's an image using Ron's Apocalypse.  I don't know how to blend the brushes with the main image to make them look good.  Maybe my color choice is too dark?  What I did was to generally use 3 destroyed buildings per layer.  Duplicate twice so there's 3 layers.  Bottom layer: normal.  2nd layer color invert and blend vivid light 30%.  3 layer multiply.  I put a filter over the whole thing to try to blend a little better.  I'd upload a picture but it's not working.

Post edited by krickerd on

Comments

• krickerdkrickerd Posts: 184

Okay I think I learned something.  Use the brush on one layer set normal color black.  Select everything outside the brush area then invert selection.  Create a transparent layer below, add layer mask selection.  Then fill the layer with a color (usually white or maybe some average color from the background image).  Group these 2 layers so they can be moved and transformed later.  This seems to be the closest way to get an image which looks like the brush preview and doesn't just blend in with the background.  This will likely prove useful for really defined shaped brushes such as buildings, cars, etc. where you want the whole brush shape to have high contrast.

• Llola LaneLlola Lane Posts: 9,074

Thanks for the brush tip... I too struggle with Rons Brushes... I have more than half of his products but they sit on my computer... waiting.  :(  I'll give your technique a try.  Hope some others will post their successes... btw... Still don't see your artwork :( 

• dtrscbrutaldtrscbrutal Posts: 471
    edited July 2023