How to stop object deforming midway through morph

bart203040bart203040 Posts: 10

So I am trying to do seomthing I thought would be fairly simple, I am creating a scene that has a wall with a door in it and I want that door to be able to open and be set to varying degrees of openness. I have imported that wall and the door seperately as OBJs from Blender, and then exported a second OBJ of the door fully open, then loaded that into morph loader.

However, when I apply the morph it only looks right when at 100%, and with all the values in between the door is squashed looking which just dosent look great. Is there a way to load a second OBJ into the morph at like a halfway point? Or is there a way to lock the translation and scale so that only rotation is affected?

This is my first time trying to create a morph so I apologise if I am missing something fundamental, I know it is hard to see the distortion from the screenshots but it is definately noticeable

Edit: Screenshots dont seem to be uploading for some reason

Post edited by bart203040 on

Comments

• crosswindcrosswind Posts: 6,176

It's a frequently-asked question, you should go for 'rigging' a door to close/open other than 'morphing' it... I remember Mr. Richard Haseltine  ever gave a very good explanation on the reason but I forgot his words... frown

You may check this video from Parmy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NH6sg-pMppU

• PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 10,012

When one makes a morph for an object, all of the vertices of the mesh are following a straight line from A to B (morph dial from 0% to 100%), that is why a morph is not good for opening a door.

• felisfelis Posts: 4,189

It will work for sliding doors... devil

• bart203040bart203040 Posts: 10

Oh okay, so a morph is basically for deforming a mesh and rigging would be for moving it. That makes a lot of sense now that its been pointed out lol.

Thanks for the responses, I sincerely appreciate the help

• Catherine3678abCatherine3678ab Posts: 8,241