Trying to get Daz 3D pro working

narkfestmojonarkfestmojo Posts: 91
edited December 1969 in New Users

about me: I am a hobbyist visual artist interested in trying out 3d
experience: loads of programming and I have used Hammer to produce Portal 2 chambers.

I got the free Daz3D pro key and installed the 64 bit version.
When I launched the software I noticed a tute window which showed the 'Smart Content' pane with lot's of stuff in it.
My smart content pane has nothing at all in it... should it have stuff in it if you have the free pro version (with the pro key)
My assumption is that the smart pane is used to list the library of ready made models, both stuff that comes free with the pro version of the software and any additional packages you later purchase, however there is no way for me to know whether this is or isn't accurate.

Additional information about a potentially broken setup.
I have been advised by Daz that the key they first sent to me was not for the pro version.
Apparently they accidently sent me the wrong key.
I noticed that the software reported itself as the standard version of the software not the pro.
Daz sent me an email telling me to use an updated version of the key which I did.
The software now reports itself as the pro version.
However; nothing appears in my smart content panes (the panes to the left) and it keeps asking me for a key for aniMate2.
I have attempted a reboot to no avail.

I would like to try fully reinstalling, unfortunately, the Daz3D uninstaller does not remove it's registry entries.
I tried to remove as many as I could find in regedit but apparently I must have missed some because the software knew it's serial codes and continued to pester me with a request for aniMate2 serials. I also tried to install the 32 bit version to see if it would work but it's the same.