How to Select Node/Object in Scene by script + Clear all Selections by script?

ShadowzShadowz Posts: 31

So theres two scripts I need, 1 is to simply select an object/note in my scene and the other is to clear all selections in my scene. 

The goal is to first clear all selections in my scene and then select the required node/object so that I can apply stuff like materials, presets, other custom script actions without having to Find & select the object myself from the scene. 

I am a total newbie with stuff like this so any help is much appreciated. 

Post edited by Shadowz on

Comments

• Toggling seelction on or off just needs node.select( true/false ), wheer node is the node you wish to select/deselect. http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/referenceguide/scripting/api_reference/object_index/node_dz#a_1ad43530e0dd2a0a0e6d325444f5e9c25d

Finding nodes, by naem or label or just getting a list, is done through DzScene http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/referenceguide/scripting/api_reference/object_index/scene_dz

So you could use

var aSceneNodes = Scene.getSelectedNodeList();

to get all of the currently selected ndoes, then go through the array doing select(false ) on each to end up with nothing selected. Then you need to get the node you want selected, by name of label  or whatever, and use select( true ) on that.

• OmnifluxOmniflux Posts: 363

You probably want to end up with something like this

(function(){

// Setup so you can undo

beginUndo();

beginNodeSelectionHold();

// Deselect everything

Scene.selectAllNodes (false);

// Do your custom thing here, something like this

var oMyNode = Scene.findNode ('My Node Name');

oMyNode.select();

App.getContentMgr().mergeFiles (['/Presets/My Preset.duf', '/Materials/My Material.duf']);

// Finish undo setup

restoreNodeSelectionHold();

acceptUndo ("My custom thing");

})();

• Omniflux said:

You probably want to end up with something like this

(function(){