New custom build for Daz ($5K Budget)

465c465c Posts: 0

Hello. I am new to Daz3D and have been learning on my Mac but rendering is impossible (no surprise there). I have decided to go all in and build a PC just for Daz. With a budget of $5,000 what parts would do you recommend gets me the most bang for the buck? I already have KB/Mouse/Display.

I went through the forums and it looks like getting 2 GPUs is better than one higher end but then cooling is an issue. But then I get unsure of the MB plus cooling plus power supply combo. If anyone has a planned pcpartpicker list for their own rig and willing to share, that would be awesome.

Post edited by 465c on

Comments

• 465c465c Posts: 0

So I build this part list without knowing too much about what goes best with each other but counting on the website to ensure compatibility:

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/DQtGMb

Let me know what you would you add or replace. I know RTX 4000 series is not supported yet but it makes sense to go with the faster card (4090) since it will become compatible soon?

• troth_67124ac7troth_67124ac7 Posts: 6
    edited December 2022

I don't know if you've pulled the trigger yet, but unless you need the features aimed at enterprises (groups etc.), you're totally fine running Win11 Home. It's even a free upgrade if you have 7, 8 or 10 somewhere.

Secondly, I'd use an AIO watercooler for the i9-13900K. I went with a be quiet Silent Loop 2 360mm for my i5-8600k @5GHz (PC is also used for simracing, where the old i5 is still good enough) and I can keep it for the planned i7-13700K upgrade. It's so comfy to barely hear anything from the CPU cooler.

be quiet! AIO's are not available in the US due to a patent issue, so NZXT, Corsair or Alphacool are the go-to brands.

I also don't see the point in the very expensive mainboard. The Asus Prime Z790 does the trick more than well enough.