Problems with re-installing

Hello everyone!

Thanks for reading and helping. I'm in a unique position, I've had a daz since 2015, but I am also a beginner. I would muck around on my old computer just making pictures and not fully understanding the technical aspects. Well, this year I got a new computer, I want to do more and I want to learn this art properly. Everything on my old computer worked fine.

So I install everything and make some new pictures. I noticed that the wrong part of my computer was getting a workout (The CPU would get into the 90%s and the GPU sat at 1-5%) I didn't pay as close attention to my computer and it's preformance before with my old one, but was trying to pay closer attention with my new cool computer. So I thought "Maybe I installed wrong?" So I tried to uninstall and I think that screwed things up more because folders stayed around. I deleted a couple and got overwhelmed.

So I worry about that for a while before going "Okay I'll just try to reinstall and see what happens" and I got daz central installed just fine but Daz studio won't get past 56%

To be clear I know this is my error I messed around with this stuff without proper knowledge.

Can anyone help me get started correctly?

Thanks for your time!! I really appreciate all help

Comments

• SofaCitizenSofaCitizen Posts: 1,771

Can't help with the Daz Central issue as I exclusively use DIM to install all Daz stuff.  However, the previous rendering issue could be due to a number of factors - assuming you do indeeed have an nVidia card then it probably means that the scene you are rending is too much for your graphics card's memory so it is reverting to the CPU. If you hadn't uninstalled then you could have done some tests or checked your logs.