Content Folders and Products mapping?

How do products and created files get placed in the content folders?   Products installed from Daz Central seem to have locations picked almost randomly.   And the folders they're installed in seem to have nothing to do with where they show up in Smart Content  ("People" versus "Figures" for example.)   I'm a noob so I'm very confused by this.   Sorry if this is a silly question, but I don't know enough about the CMS to even know that.

Comments

• SofaCitizenSofaCitizen Posts: 1,771

There are two ways of looking at what you have installed - the physical location and the "virtual location". This second method is what Smart Content uses and is defined by entries in the database - often referred to as the CMS or "Content Management System". As you have probably seen, any items you install have their files merged in the existing physical folder system (and so not kept together in one parent folder). Without going into details some of these locations are very important and so you should not move them unless you know what you are doing as it can easily break things. Therefore, a Product is created in the database which has links to all the files/items you need within it and allows them to be accessed together in one place. The items within a Product can then be further Categorised without needing to move the physical files - they can even appear in multiple places where it makes sense.

• hansolocambohansolocambo Posts: 649
    edited November 2022

tom_bf4025f165 said:

I'm a noob so I'm very confused by this.  [...] Daz Central seem to have locations picked almost randomly

Daz is well thought. OFFICIAL Daz morphs bundles, and characters are well made. If all content creators were following the organization logic of Genesis 8 Female Body Morphs or Genesis 8 Female Head Morphs, working with Daz would be a breeze. But it's not.