Some tips about my new build?

Hi guys, how are you?
I'd like to ask your advice: I've been studying DAZ for about three years now, and now that I finally think I can really create an interesting project, I find myself without a computer - I've had some pretty serious problems and in a nutshell burnt it down I'd have about 3,000$ to spend and I'd be interested in a computer (a video card, in this case) that gives me maximum personal freedom and doesn't make me wait 1 hour / 1.5 hours for rather heavy renders (iRay scenes with 2-3 characters and a lot of artificial lighting).

Above all, what I would be most interested in is generating many animations per week with a fairly high quality. I have been using a very faithful 1660 with 6GB of ram for the past three years, but for what I have to do it takes too long (sometimes even 1- days for a 20-second animation).

I thought of buying an Alienware Aurora (Core i9-2TB + 1TB SSD - 128GB RAM - RTX 3090 | 8 Cores @ 5.3 GHz - 24GB GDDR6X but many people advised against it for various reasons. 
Also, many people here have told me that a 3090 with 24GB is great, but that there might be better alternatives.

Would you have any advice for me?

Thank you very much. 

Comments

• PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 10,013
    edited October 2022

DS + Iray, is all about VRAM and RAM, and when one gets deep enough, it's about storage space and how powerful a PSU one has.

We still don't know, what DS5 is bringing into the table, but for DS4 a six year old i7 is already fast enough

Drives... 1TB SSD for the OS, another one for programs and miscellaneous things and a 4TB external USB drive for the DS Content, would be fine to start with.

Post edited by PerttiA on
  • hansolocambohansolocambo Posts: 649
    edited October 2022

I just bought a new rig, to give you an idea, for about 3300 €. But I already had and didn't need to buy : 3x27' screens, 1 XP-Penx 22-e Pro, Keyboard, mouse, 5.1 surround, Razer Tartarus and hard drives.