Creating surfaces on a new item

PendraiaPendraia Posts: 3,591

Edited to add: Just discoverred this https://www.daz3d.com/the-geometry-editor-an-in-depth-tutorial-guide it has videos rather than writing and images so it's certainly worth a look as it contains way more than I have done here and looks quite extensive. I'm going to have to save up for this one.

I offered to help someone recently with creating surfaces in DS and I'm posting it here just in case anyone else is interested. Just like to say I'm not an expert I'm just sharing what I've found. 

I'm going to start with the basics and build to the more complex.

If you haven't already opened the tool settings tab it can be located by going to the menu strip along the top.

Select Window/Panes/Tool Settings.

This will load a new tab. You'll probably notice my ds looks different to the default view as I've set it up to suit myself and the fact that I use two monitors

If you look on the right hand side of the image you will see the tool settings pane is docked. You'll also notice that it contains both surfaces and face groups.

If you look on the left side you will see the window menu highlighted in yellow, along with the pane tab and right down towards the bottom of the menu is the tool setting tab.

setting up the tool settings.jpg
1650 x 1080 - 289K
Post edited by Pendraia on

Comments

• PendraiaPendraia Posts: 3,591
    edited October 2022

So we have our tool setting menu. I know that you have loaded your obj so you don't really need to know this but for anyone else, you can either use the bridge if using a program like zbrush or hexagon or you can go to file /import.

I want to show you that there is a difference though between the two methods. The zbrush bridge for example doesn't include face groups in the transfer but if you export and then load it as an object it will include the face groups.