Camera Problem / roatation around axis - Is it a bug or a feature?

Camera Problem- Is it a bug or a feature?

I have been using Daz Studio intensively for many years. It is an important programme in my workflow and I really love it:-)
However, since day one there have been a few things in its use that I find appalling.
First and foremost is the use and positioning of the camera in a scene.

Among other things, I use 3DS Max, where you set a camera with a target point. When you use the camera, the target point always stays at the same point and when I move the target point, the camera stays at the same position. 
AND ABOVE ALL, THE CAMERA DOES NOT ROTATE THE HORIZON!
The camera always stays parallel to the horizon in these and other programs.

Not so in DAZ Studio....

For one thing, there is no real target point that you can move in all directions.
There is a point that can only be moved in one plane, but not in all directions.

> I then tried to work with dummies (a sphere, for example) to which I then apply "Point At".
Then I move this dummy to the direction I want. The problem is that the camera rotates around its own axis. So it does not stay parallel to the horizon.

> I then tried to correct these wrong rotations by hand, but this does not work with a "point at" link. If I deactivate the "Point At", the camera jumps back to the starting point.

(Picture: point_at_01 & 02)

Does anyone know a solution for this?
I have already spent hours with this problem and have not found a solution.

point_at_01.jpg
1124 x 1062 - 61K
point_at_02.jpg
1124 x 1062 - 65K

Comments

• Doc AcmeDoc Acme Posts: 1,153

Perhaps you are unaware of the two rotation methods; the normal Left click-drag and the RIGHT click-drag?

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 38,037
    edited October 2022

don't use the mouse wheel for animation dolly zooming because it doesn't just move the camera forward,it yaw, pitches and rolls and changes all 3 axis and focal length