Import Skyrim .Nif files into Daz3d

Hi all. I was wondering if it was possible to somehow import assets from Skyrim such as hair styles or outfits into Daz3d for the models to wear? The assets in Skyrim as all .nif files so some conversion would have to be done, but after that I'm wondering what the best way to go about it is? I'm completely new to 3D modeling so apologies if this is a stupid question.

Comments

• frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,910

Be sure to read the Bethesda and Skyrim EULA to be sure what you want to do is permitted.

• they look pretty awful 

are very low poly and solid, I deleted bits with the geometry editor to fit them but dforce did not work well at all even subdivided.

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 38,037
    edited September 2021

NifSkope is what you need BTW

http://niftools.sourceforge.net/wiki/NifSkope

and no you cannot redistribute, sell etc anything but a fan Art render for your own use is perfectly acceptable 

Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • <3 Skyrim :)

• Thanks all for the advice.

And don't worry, I don't plan to sell or redistribute the assets. I'm an illustrator and only want to use them as drawing references for my Elder Scrolls fanart. 

• WendyLuvsCatz said:

and no you cannot redistribute, sell etc anything but a fan Art render for your own use is perfectly acceptable 

Thanks, I have NifSkope, but wasn't aware it could handle .duf files.

And don't worry. I don't plant to redistribute the assets. I just want to use them as drawing references. 

• I believe the original question related to .nif files into DAZ3D not .duf files into nifskope!!!

regards Colin

seltro1 said:

WendyLuvsCatz said:

Thanks, I have NifSkope, but wasn't aware it could handle .duf files.

And don't worry. I don't plant to redistribute the assets. I just want to use them as drawing references. 

no only obj AFAIK 

edited October 2022

since I got a duplicate post you also need BSAopt to extract the textures