Noob question... How to optimize Daz Studio workflow with two different GPUs?

Good day humans,

As I'm still learning how to use Daz I'd like to optimise my workflow. I'll cut to the chase. I'm fortunate enough to own the following:

• GPU 1: nVIdia GTX 970
  • GPU 2 : nVidia RTX 3090
  • Monitor 1: Samsung 4k 28in
  • Monitor 2: Samsung 4k 32in

Other components:

• CPU: Intel i7 4790k
  • RAM: 32 GB

I'm not overclocking anything

I'm currently using only the best of each so, RTX 3090 and the 4k 32 inches.

I've read across multiple searches I can combined the GPUs to maximize my workflow but still quite don't get it.

I have few questions:

1. What would be the best configuration for those four? for workflow I mean. (I don't think I can combine both GPUs for rendering, but I bought Manfrday's render batch plugin so I can just set it up before bed and let it do its magic.)
  2. Does working at 4k affects software navigation/interface? Does it affects iray preview?
  3. Should/can I connect each monitor to a different GPU?
  4. Can/should I use the 32in for workflow and the 28in for iray preview?
  5. Can I assign the 970 to iray preview while keeping the 3090 for everything else?

I'll have more questions depending on you responses.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers.

Comments

• thenoobduckythenoobducky Posts: 68
    edited August 2021

I wouldn't bother with pairing 970 with 3090. 970 got 4GB VRAM, Iray will chew up 2.5GB so you only have about 1GB for scene content. While you can use 970 for display output to save some VRAM on 3090, 3090 got so much VRAM that it hardly matter. Plus, with 32GB system RAM, don't think you can even use all of 3090 VRAM in rendering. 

Post edited by thenoobducky on
  • N00b4EverN00b4Ever Posts: 293

thenoobducky said: