8 and 8.1 is essentially double dipping?

vijayasimhabrvijayasimhabr Posts: 204

I only  started with Daz a few weeks ago.  I am still learning the tools, and I am new to this whole 3D art space itself. I dont know how new or old Version 8 system is, but to me, this entire 8 and 8.1 system seems  to like a painful way to manage  things.

It all started with the purchase of an expression pack.  It was designed for 8, so I assumed compatiblity with 8.1. turns out, expressions are not compatible with 8.1.  At  least in this pack. I am not linking the actual pack here on purpose. 

Since this incident, now, there is an element of doubt in all my  purchases. Should I  even buy 8.1 items? Or, should I stick to 8 only, and let go off of whatever goodness 8.1 is supposed to bring. 

After much internal discussion,  I have now told myself that I will only buy 8.0 assets and 8.0 models/figures only. I work as a software developer, and it seems like a poor way of handling version compatibility. It's frustrating. Even more frustrating because, the studio keeps showing the expressions as being compatible with 8.1, but it clearly is not.

Post edited by Richard Haseltine on

Comments

• nemesis10nemesis10 Posts: 3,381