Geoshells and LIE

I am an amateur and a newbie when it comes to DAZ Studio. I am mostly learing it for personal use, but I would still like to learn some more advanced features, though I'm not even sure what I'm asking help for qualifies as "advanced". I bought this product, but it mentiones building LIE on Geoshells. These terms are fairly foreign to me. I would perfer assistance only on how to use this product, but if it requires a broader understanding of how the mechenics work, that is fine.
Thanks in advance

Comments

• margravemargrave Posts: 1,822

An LIE is a texture that's layered over a figure's skin texture. This allows a user to add decals like blood and tattoos without having to manually edit the figure's textures. You can access the Layered Image Editor by going to the surfaces tab and clicking the thumbnails of the texture maps.

A geoshell is a transparent duplicate of a figure's geometry that hovers above the skin. It has its own surface settings, so you can also use it to add decals to a figure without adjusting the figure's surfaces at all.

It's the PAs perogative which one they want to make. This set includes both since Genesis 8 geoshells aren't compatible with 8.1 geoshells unless you do some stupidly complicated workarounds.

• Okay... I assume the intended use is to apply LIE to the Geoshell layer, and not the base figure.The problem is I don't know which dial to apply the LIE to, there is about 20 dials divided amoung 17 differnt sections of the Geoshell. I also don't know if there are "presets" or if I have to use the "editor". Again, I would like some specialized help, hopefully from someone who has used this product. Thanks in advance.
    I've attached what I see when I go to "Surfaces" in the "FGW 8.1 Wound Shell".

GeoshellLIE.PNG
    427 x 481 - 103K

ajcoutinho said: