Opacity Strenght

goydogoydo Posts: 4
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hi,

i would like to know why the Opacity Strenght is always set to zero when I import an Objket. Is it common to work with invisible objects in DAZ Studio?
How can I change this?

thx

Comments

  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 7,232
    edited December 1969

    It happens sometimes. If it's happening all the time, that's unusual but not unheard of.

    When you import the .obj file, is there a matching .mtl file for the materials? There are different ways to put together a .mtl file, and not all of them work well in D|S.

  • goydogoydo Posts: 4
    edited December 1969

    I am exporting from 3ds MAX with OBJ Settings called "DAZ Studio". But it is not importand anymore. Ther a so many Problems with DAZ. Fliped Normals, destroyed Smoothing Groops, wrong UVW data... I think I will no longer use DAZ Stuido. It is to mutch work to reapair all the exported Objekts from DAZ.

  • jestmartjestmart Posts: 4,449
    edited December 1969

    There is nothing wrong with DAZ Studio, it imports my models made in Blender just fine.

  • kaotkblisskaotkbliss Posts: 2,914
    edited December 1969

    I've also not had a problem importing .obj files downloaded from other sites or importing edits from Hex so it sounds like maybe your 3ds max settings for exporting or the models made in max are wrong.

  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 7,232
    edited December 1969

    Are you creating .mtl files to match the .obj files? That's what is particularly important, D|S can not pick up materials settings properly from the .obj file on its own. Without a .mtl file some very odd things can happen.

    Also, there are known problems with meshes exported from 3DSMAX — the proper export settings must be used, or else the exported file can only work properly if it's imported back into 3DSMAX. I hadn't heard of the program having a named "DAZ Studio" export setting. Does this come with the program, or is it installed separately?

  • goydogoydo Posts: 4
    edited December 1969

    Thanks for reply!

    The OBJ Exporter in 3ds MAX comes with many Presets. One is named "DAZ Studio". So why not use this for Exporting OBJ to DAZ Studio?
    This Preset exports OBJ and MTL.

    If I import OBJ in DAZ Studio the material is invisible.
    If I import OBJ after deleting MTL File the Material is OK, but the Texture is lost.

    How ever, after exporting FBX, back in MAX with my Textur Atlas from DAZ Studio, there are flipped Normals, strange Smoothing, wrong Orientation and sometimes even incorrect UVWs.

    I am talking about a lot of Objekts going from MAX to DAZ and back to generate Textur Atlas for using in Game Engines. I could repair a few Errors, but not more then 100 Objekts with different Problems.

  • Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited December 1969

    Just use a basic OBJ exporter. Don't bother with the presets, as I've had nothing but trouble with ALL of them. The problem is 80% of the time with the export, not with the import.

    That being said, if you're just using Daz Studio for the Texture Atlas, then why not skip the middle man and do everything through 3D Studio? It's better designed for the task anyway, and it saves you having to do import and export for something which 3DS does better.

    Daz Studio is really designed as a tool for composing and rendering scenes, rather than editing models and textures.

  • throttlekittythrottlekitty Posts: 173
    edited December 1969

    I don't use max, but would those problems be solved by collapsing the modifier stacks? At least for the normals and UV problems. Studio will ignore edge smoothing/smoothing groups on import, You can only force hard edges by splitting the geometry.

  • goydogoydo Posts: 4
    edited December 1969

    1. Ther is no chance to make a Textur Atlas in 3ds MAX like DAZ Studio can do.

    2. The MAX Export works well in DAZ. But the DAZ Export ist broken in MAX.

    MAX ---> DAZ (mesh is fine, but invisible Materials)

    DAZ ---> MAX (Problems with Smoothing, Normals, Orientation...some Objekts are fine, some not)

  • Did you come with a solution?

    I have exactly the same problem.

    Thx !

  • goydogoydo Posts: 4

    The Solution is to avoid DAZ Studio. I created a maxscript to make one Textur Atlas from four objects by shifting the UVWs. Here is the script. It works fine with MAX 2010. After recreate the UVWs on every Objekt you have to stitch your Textures in Photoshop.

    rollout uvwshift_rollout "UVW-Shift"	(		label lab1 "Skale + Move UVWs"				button top_left "Top-Left"	on top_left pressed do		(			myObj = $			addModifier myObj (Unwrap_UVW())			myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.setTVSubObjectMode 3			fcount = getnumfaces myObj			myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.selectFaces #{1..fcount}            myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.scaleSelectedXY 0.5 0.5 [0,1,0]							myObj.modifiers[1].name = "UVW-TopLeft"			setCommandPanelTaskMode #create			setCommandPanelTaskMode #modify					)--end on	button top_right "Top-Right"	on top_right pressed do		(			myObj = $			addModifier myObj (Unwrap_UVW())			myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.setTVSubObjectMode 3			fcount = getnumfaces myObj			myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.selectFaces #{1..fcount}            myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.scaleSelectedXY 0.5 0.5 [1,1,0]							myObj.modifiers[1].name = "UVW-TopRight"			setCommandPanelTaskMode #create			setCommandPanelTaskMode #modify		)--end on	button bot_left "Bottom-Left"	on bot_left pressed do		(			myObj = $			addModifier myObj (Unwrap_UVW())			myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.setTVSubObjectMode 3			fcount = getnumfaces myObj			myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.selectFaces #{1..fcount}            myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.scaleSelectedXY 0.5 0.5 [0,0,0]							myObj.modifiers[1].name = "UVW-BottomLeft"			setCommandPanelTaskMode #create			setCommandPanelTaskMode #modify		)--end on	button bot_right "Bottom-Right"	on bot_right pressed do		(			myObj = $			addModifier myObj (Unwrap_UVW())			myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.setTVSubObjectMode 3			fcount = getnumfaces myObj			myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.selectFaces #{1..fcount}            myObj.modifiers[#unwrap_uvw].unwrap2.scaleSelectedXY 0.5 0.5 [1,0,0]							myObj.modifiers[1].name = "UVW-BottomRight"			setCommandPanelTaskMode #create			setCommandPanelTaskMode #modify		)--end on				)--end rolloutcreateDialog uvwshift_rollout 112 128

     

Sign In or Register to comment.