Hair renders with weird glitches, could really use some advice

Hey all! im quite new to daz (probably 2 months now) and have had a few succesful renders so far, but now I have found a problem that only happens when i started rendering characters with hair. most of them if not all have really weird random strands of hair thrown in them (while most of the hair actually looks pretty good), as well as black pixelated almost burned looking hair on the sides. at first i thought it was just a matter of longer render times, so i turned the max time to 0 with render quality off and just let it cook for 5000 samples with the idea that this would decrease the amount of weird looking hairs. but from lets say 1500 nothing changed anymore, the quality did not seem to improve. what am i doing wrong here? i have included the render settings and an example image as an attachement. the render took about 5/6 hours by the way, iray, 1080p, and just the auto headlamp as lighting. 

my pc is underwhelming i know but its an 1050ti 3gb with 16gb ram and a i7-7700 if that helps. would love some advice. 

render settings.PNG
175 x 308 - 12K
6 hours.png
1920 x 1080 - 3M

Comments

• The hairs around the edge might be an issue with anti-aliasing. What happens if you save as Tiff or PNG, with no backdrop, and then layer into a background in an image editor? Or, if that is what you are doing now, what happens if you render against a backdrop (an actual backdrop from the environemtn pane, or Draw Dome on in Render Settings)?

• Odesza7Odesza7 Posts: 12

I will try rendering it against a backdrop and some more lighting, see if that helps. does the anti-aliasing problem have something to do with the hair itself or is it something you think i might be able to tweek in the (render) settings.

Thanks for the quick reply by the way! really appreciate it.

• Odesza7 said: