Worn Leather Iray Shaders

I'm looking for some help with the product Worn Rough Leather Iray Shaders.  I assumed it would be a simple click-and-load process but that appears to not be the case.  I'm relatively new to Iray shaders but everything I've used so far has pretty much been a click-and-load, so this one has me stumped.

When I load a leather preset, it does not match the icon photo, appearing much darker.  The product notes mention a geoshell process, but I had no luck following those instructions.  I experimented with the various utility and effects presets but still could not achieve the results shown in store product photos.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jeff

Comments

• felisfelis Posts: 4,203

I don't have that product.

But when you say that it appears much darker, is it then in an actual render?

And for everything - the appearance is dependant on the lightning.

Regarding the geoshell, then I would not suggest that, unless you are after some special effect.

What type of object are you applying it to?

• GeoffreyHawkinsGeoffreyHawkins Posts: 255
    edited November 2020

Thanks for responding.

It is darker in the actual render.  And the actual texture source file jpg is darker as well.  It is not a result of the lighting in the scene (which was a simple Iray Outdoor preset) as nothing else in the scene is being impacted.  Because all the source jpgs appear darker than the product/icon photos, I assumed there was a process to achieve the end result that I just wasn't getting, due to my lack of Iray experience.

The object I am working on is the SWM Steam Walker Machine, an older product with an original texture set that is rather rough in regard to Iray.  I have applied various iray metal presets (all just simple point-and-clicks) to it with great success, but immediately had trouble when attempting to apply the leather to cockpit seat.

Post edited by GeoffreyHawkins on