Lighting

I've been using the prgram for a couple of months now for laughs and giggles, but now I'm getting down into the nitty gritty of things. I'm getting better at posing, but my renders are coming out dark, or with the default lighting option. I'm trying to get a handle on how to set up the lighting so it doesn't look like they're sitting in a basement. I looked on Youtube and saw a couple of basic tutorials, but nothing as in depth as what I'm looking for. If anyone could give me the rundown on how to use the lights, or point me in the direction of the tutorial here on Daz for lighting, that would be great. 

Testing.png
982 x 569 - 611K
Testing 2.png
982 x 569 - 790K

Comments

• If you're using iray, try from the top menu, select "create" > "new spotlight" > then a new window will appear, select "perspective" and this will put a spotlight directly into along the path of your perspective view. A spotlight will appear in your Scene named spotlight if you kept the default name. You can then select this spotlight and change the luminance (just increase the numerical value) and brighten whatever that spot is pointed at.

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,722

I tend to stay away from spotlights since they can cause harsh light and take longer to render. I like using plane emitters, They are easy to set up and pretty versatile. Just go to the top and create a new primitive - plane - 1 division - whatever size you want (the smaller the size, the more specular you get). The select the surface and apply any iray light shader, the go into the surfaces tab and adjust the temperature and luminance.

Ghost lights are great also, but don't give much specular on metal or shiny objects.

this free light set is pretty versatile and works great http://www.valzheimer.info/2016/11/va2016-rgb-hdri-soft-lights-for-daz.html

• HylasHylas Posts: 4,908