Can you help with importing high res figures?

Hello wonderful Daz community.  Forgive me, I am sure that my problem is one with an answer, I can not be the only person ever to have had this issue, but I can’t find anything on the net that helps. I am a Toy Designer of twenty five years standing.  I often use Daz to create base meshes for ZBrush, it’s one-way traffic though, once I’ve exported to ZBrush I don’t go the other way, I’ve never needed to.  However, I have recently worked on a character that I want to pose in a large variety of positions so it would make sense to do this in Daz.

I exported a Genesis 8 female figure from Daz and re-sculpted it to an insanely high level of detail. I did not alter the base mesh, merely subdivided it (7 times!) to support the extra detail.  Obviously, I can import the model back into Daz, as a morph but only at the lowest subdivision level. If I export the full resolution model and copy the rigging from the parent figure, all the weighting is lost (presumably because the polygon count is different).

I cannot save out a normal map to apply the detail to the figure in Daz Studio because ZBrush does not support multiple maps in the way Daz uses them.  I don’t care how it’s achieved, please help; how do I import a high-resolution model into Daz Studio, rig it and pose it WITHOUT rigging the whole thing from scratch.  Is it possible?

Comments

• LeanaLeana Posts: 11,391

Unfortunately only Daz PAs have access to the tools needed to create HD morphs.

You could try transfering the rigging from the base figure with transfer utility (in the same way you would create the base rigging for clothes), but there's no guarantee it will work well.

• Leana said:

Unfortunately only Daz PAs have access to the tools needed to create HD morphs.

You could try transfering the rigging from the base figure with transfer utility (in the same way you would create the base rigging for clothes), but there's no guarantee it will work well.