Switching storage drive from c:/ to d:/

I've seen a few conversations in the forums about moving Daz programs or assets to the d:/ drive, but most are very unclear. The YouTube video from Daz that's references is an older version and doesn't match the current one at all, so the visual isn't really helpful. It also doesn't specify whether the creator is relocating Daz content from one location to the other or changing the paths to download from scratch. I've also had tech people suggest that programs run better if they're on the c:/ drive, and I've read in the forums that everything needs to be on the same drive for it to work. I am not tech savvy, so please keep it simple, but if anyone knows the answer to any of these and can help with the directions, I would be eternally grateful.

Comments

• AscaniaAscania Posts: 1,849

Go to the content directory manager, add the new DAZ and Poser content directories you want. Put them on top of their respective lists. DONE!

Make sure that you have them set up in DIM too.

It is that easy.

Then move them over in your file manager.

• Step by step

Moving from one drive to another.

1. Setup a 'working' folder on the new drive, you can name it what ever works for you.(note: this isn't technically necessary, it's just for organization)

2. Goto C:\Users\user name\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio and C:\Users\Public\documents\daz 3d\studio and select the My daz connect library, My library, My Daz3d Library, basically every folder therein.

3. Move the folders to the Working folder on the second drive.

4. In Daz studio, remap the folder locations via the CDM(Content Directory Manager), right click the Content Library Tab, see attached images.

5. Map each of the moved folders, nothing lower or higher in the hierarchy.

If you prefer, you can just move the files inside the individual folders from the C:\ drive, and just map the 'working' folder.