mesh collisions

djigneodjigneo Posts: 283
edited December 1969 in Daz Script Developer Discussion

Hello,

I'm new to creating DAZ scripts and I'm reading through the API and trying to get a grasp on what's there.

I'm looking for a way to determine if two dzGeometry objects intersect each other, that is: at least one facet from Geometry #1 touches at least one facet from Geometry #2. I was hoping there'd be a function I could just consume in the DAZ API, but after hours of browsing I'm not seeing anything that looks close.

Does such a function exist in the standard API? If not, is there a script example somewhere that already does this / is fairly close that I could study?

Thanks for the help!

Comments

• rbtwhizrbtwhiz Posts: 2,185
    edited July 2014

The DAZ Studio scripting API does not provide convenience classes/functions specifically for determining geometry collision/intersection.

Testing for collisions between the bounding boxes of nodes is fairly simple...

function collides( boxA, boxB ){
     return !(
      (boxA.maxX < boxB.minX) || (boxA.minX > boxB.maxX) ||
      (boxA.maxY < boxB.minY) || (boxA.minY > boxB.maxY) ||
      (boxA.maxZ < boxB.minZ) || (boxA.minZ > boxB.maxZ)
     );
    };

// Get the selected nodes in the scene
    var aNodes = Scene.getSelectedNodeList();
    // If we have enough nodes to test collision
    if( aNodes.length > 1 ){
     // Declare working variables
     var oNodeA, oNodeB;
     var bCollides;
     var sFeedback;
     // Iterate over the selected nodes
     for( var i = 0; i < aNodes.length; i += 1 ){
      // Get the 'current' node
      oNodeA = aNodes[ i ];
      // Iterate over the selected nodes
      for( var j = 0; j < aNodes.length; j += 1 ){
       // Get the node to check
       oNodeB = aNodes[ j ];
       // If the nodes are the same
       if( pointersAreEqual( oNodeA, oNodeB ) ){
        // Next!
        continue;
       }

// Get whether the world space bounding boxes intersect/collide