Newbie question regarding VRAM...

MuzMelMuzMel Posts: 76

Is it utterly useless to rely on [VRAM]it?

My laptop is almost dead and I've been looking for new one better suited to DAZ. The one I was eyeing has RTX2070, which has 8GB of VRAM. I was just told by a DAZ artist that this means an environment +1-2 characters. That is really not much to work with at all. If I add a 3rd character it will spill over and go into CPU rendering. Are the only options to spend $2500 on some 24GBVRAM beast GPU or render with CPU? I am new to computer specs discussion, maybe I am missing something here or had too high expectations.

To the people with 8GB VRAM, what kind of scenes do you make? Do you use Scene Optimizer? All those people who have renders with 5-6 characters group shot, how do you do it?

Post edited by Richard Haseltine on

Comments

• kenshaw011267kenshaw011267 Posts: 3,805

Who ever told you that is wrong.

I have a 2070 and can easily fit 3 G8's and an environment onto a 2070 without an issue. I can fit 4 or 5 with optimization.

There are people out there doing some very odd renders who then claim that 8gb cards are useless.

An 8Gb card is completely sufficient for this use case:

3ish G8 figures + environment (it will depend on hair and clothing of course dForce hiar is a huge memory hog so be warned). rendered at 1080p or 1440p.

The higher the resolution of the render the less you can fit.

• fred9803fred9803 Posts: 1,562

I can only back up what kenshaw said. I have no problem with 4-5 G8s with 4K maps at default settings. Of cause it all depends on "the-other-stuff" you have in your scene. A RTX2070 with 8GB of VRAM is well above the minimum requirements for DS Iray rendering.

• i53570ki53570k Posts: 212
    edited August 2020

There is no general rule.  Personally I've seen environments consuming anywhere from measly 100 MB to 10+ GB in their default settings, and G8 characters from 500 MB to 2.5+ GB each, props, clothing and hair cost extra.