Dforce not working on entire clothing item *Solved*

LBSTHLLBSTHL Posts: 20

Hello everybody,

I am quite new to Daz but digging deeper and deeper into its functions. I have a lot of fun with it but there is one problem I'm encountering regularly that I just cannot solve myself - even though I'm sure the solution is pretty simple. Maybe somebody here can help a newbie out!

So, let's say I want to create a render of a dress hanging over a chair. As of now I select a (dforce compatible) dress, pose it over the chair, add a dynamic surface, run a simulation and... let's try to be funny and say the results are mixed :D. With most items, the skirt and flounce fall dynamically as expected but everything above the waistline just remains in position, leaving a weird "half-dynamic" dress hanging in the air.

I know I'm missing something here - but what?

Any help would be much appreciated! :)

Post edited by LBSTHL on

Comments

• GordigGordig Posts: 9,902

Using a dForce compatible dress is somewhat counterproductive to what you're trying to achieve, since it will not only already have a dForce modifier applied, but also a weight map telling it which parts will and will not respond to simulation.

• LBSTHLLBSTHL Posts: 20

Ah, I see! Had a feeling that weight maps might play a part in here.

I actually tried to access to weight map of the dress and think I saw what corresponds to my problem and your understanding of it - half of the dress was not covered.

However, even after I evened the weight map, the dress still just kinda hung in the air...

In other words: what could I do to fix this? :) Or what different approach should I follow to do what I want to do here?

Hi there Gordig,

and thank you for your reply! :)