"Click here to save a new character preset" tool

andreretogasserandreretogasser Posts: 256

I think I found something that might be material for an upcoming software update: When I save an G8 Actor with the function "Click here to save a new character preset", G8 eyelashes are lost. It makes the whole function unusable for me, because there is no notable time saving when I have to load a figure to restore eyelashes. Assuming that I use the tool correctly ... I'm not a computer scientist :-).

It would be a very "nice to have" - at least for my use if I could also safe things like hair or objects in the actors hands with this function.

Post edited by andreretogasser on

Comments

• A character preset requires some post-save tweaking to load the lashes (and brows, if appropriate) - I think there is a YouTube video covering the steps, and some forum discussion.

• SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 7,232
    edited April 2020

The usual solution is to use "save scene subset", instead of "save character" — that gives the option of saving all parented objects (eyelashes, fibermesh eyebrows, clothes, tools, weapons etc.) as well as the figure itself. Is that what you're after?

Post edited by SpottedKitty on
  • BejaymacBejaymac Posts: 1,886

Things got changed with the character preset save function when they created the G8 figures.

You can't just click accept on the character preset save options popup any more, if you do the addon data wont be saved with it.

You now need to make sure that "Post Load" is also selected, if you are using default surface settings with the addon then you can click accept to create your preset.

However if you are using custom surface settings you need a material preset, your own or someone elses, hierarchical or regular preset doesn't matter as they both work.