Rendering: Cannot save "mov" files, but can save other files

Hi,

I am new to Daz and want to render a movie.

However, when I render the movie and it wants to write to a file I receive the message:
Error save the file:
test.mov
The render could not be saved.
Try a again or choose a new file name.

However, I can save still images in almost every folder.

I have checked the privileges of those folders and these should be fine.
There is no anti-virus since I turned this off.

I am running MAC OS Catalina 10.15.2 with Daz 4.12

I have looked into this a couple of hours but cannot find the issue.

I have rebooted, plugged in USB drives to store the files to, restarted the app, but I cannot save a .mov file.

Can someone help me?

Thanks!!

Comments

• This is just a wild guess, but maybe it's the way you're saving it or the codec your using for compression. The old QuickTime is 32 bit and won't run on Catalina.

• I have tried different ways of rendering, including iray, but the problem persists.

• JD_MortalJD_Mortal Posts: 758
    edited February 2020

Honestly, you don't get a lot of options when you render directly to a video format.

I would suggest that you render to individual images and use almost any video editor to "make" the video from the sequenced images. Then, you can set your own quality, compression, do editing, and recover from "crashes" faster. (If Daz crashes while rendering a video, the whole thing is deleted when it restarts. Daz has no recovery options when it crashes. If you crash while rendering individual images, they all exist, except the ones from the point where it crashed, moving forward. You just have to re-render from that point forward, to finish the project.)