Problems Trying to install DS3 on my New PC

Hi everyone!

Hopefully someone would be able to help or nudge me in the right direction - please bear in mind I'm not technically savvy, so the chances are I might be asking totally daft questions:red:.

In August my trusty old machine finally gave up the ghost and died (killing the hard drive with all my work and custom-made stuff unbacked up, but that's a different story :sigh:).
Anyhow, a few days ago I got a new machine, with a new hard drive and a whole pile of DVD with my old programs carefully line up for re-install. Though my old machine was an old 32-bit Windows XP and my new one Windows 7 64-bit, all of the32-bit programs that ran on my old PC were neatly installed in their x86 corner.

However, when it came to my DAZ Studio 3, it starts installing, it goes through the process of putting the icon on the desktop, installing the default content, then visual C runtime libraries 2005, 2008 and then the green progress line stops near the end of the visual c 2010, the error message displaying 'DzInstallHelper.exe has encountered error', and then the whole thing goes through the uninstallation process in the reverse order, the desktop icon popping out of the existence the last.

I'm puzzled and clueless as to why is this happening.The new 64-bit DAZ 4.6 installed correctly, DAZ 3 is a 32-bit program anyway, it should surely install without the trouble in its x86 programs file folder, just like my old Photoshop and my ancient Carrara.
The system is only 3 days old, installed form scratch, scanned for viruses and malware within inches of its life - nothing.

I would really like to have the old 3 alongside the 4.6, just as I used to have DAZ 4 alongside the 3 on my old PC, - there were never any issues.
What is going on? Am I missing something?

Many thanks in advance

Comments

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited December 1969