DAZ Studio 4.0.3.47 standard (32 bit) Mac

dave.miller.ukdave.miller.uk Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Technical Help (nuts n bolts)

I'm new to DAZ Studio - and I've used Genesis and the standard libraries of hair, clothing etc to build a figure.
I need the 3D model as an .obj file, and have found how to do this through exporting.

The problem is the the file sizes are huge (approx 12Mb).

What can I do to reduce the file size? I really want to get down to around 1Mb, so I can use in a mobile app. The quality and detail doesn't need to be very high.

I can't find documentation on:
- how to optimise settings in DAZ to minimise file size
- exporting to .obj, and how to adjust parameters to get small file size and usable quality

Any help would be really appreciated

many thanks, Dave :)

Comments

• fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,577
    edited June 2012

Make sure you have resolution set to Base before you export, otherwise you'll get a SubD'd version.

ETA: Just what are you planning to do? You cannot redistribute the mesh without a Game Development license.

Post edited by fixmypcmike on
  • dave.miller.ukdave.miller.uk Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thanks very fixmypcmike - much appreciated :)

some questions:
    - how set resolutionBase before export?
    - what's a SubD’d version?
    - what's distributing the mesh?

- sorry am new to 3D software
    dave :)

edited December 1969

The Genesis model itself is low-resolution. However, it uses a technique called SubDivision so the final results when you render are high-resolution.

With Genesis loaded, go to the Parameters tab and click on "Mesh Resolution" on the left side. There are two controls, Resolution and SubD. Resolution is a pull-down that defaults to "High Res", so change it to "Base". SubD defaults to 1 (the middle value), slide it to the left (0). Now when you export Genesis the .obj will be less than 2MB.