Importing .grd Files?

Im a novice user and as such, still running through the tutor files.
I'm trying to create a ground "Terrain" other than the boring mountain that Bryce opens with.
Is there some way to modify the mountain to invert it or is there some way to get a .grd file of a contour map I made into Bryce?
I can't locate an import file for that other than the "Import obj"
Handyman454

Comments

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,273

handyman4545 - sorry, never heard of grd files. You can import height maps into the Bryce Terrain Editor (TE). It accepts 16 bit greyscale images (TIF, PNG) which means that you can also draw them in a graphics application. The TE is very versatile, there are many different terrain types you can generate, you can filter them, etc. Yes, the default mountain is not the best example. So you create a terrain (boring isle). Click on the E to open the TE and you enter a new universe ...

• handyman4545handyman4545 Posts: 399
    edited September 2018

Im trying to build a 3D scene involving a quarry.

I used Google Earth to get the Lat's, Long's & Alt's and then with Surfer, derived a wireframe map but it ends up in a .grd file and I can't figure out how to get it into some type of DEM format that Bryce will accept as a base terrain.

Maybe I'm working too hard at somthing there's an easy fix for but thus far in my miniscule but growing experience, I'm lost.

UPDATE Base + 6Hrs

I started fooling around with the brush in TE and have the functionality figured out now.
    Precision sucks though. Wish there was some way to "eye dropper" the hues to maintain more precise elevations. The controls couldn't be much friggin smaller I imagine. Be nice if you could magnify the areas.