Help me understand the camera!

Those ThingsThose Things Posts: 1,122

I should start by saying that I'm a pro photographer, and during my career I've been privileged to work with a lot of camera and lighting systems, so I know what I'm doing. But the camera in Daz studio baffles me. The result I should expect to see with, say,  a 120mm focal length, at an aperture setting of f8, is not what I'm seeing in my render. The depth of field is much more shallow, and I need to dial the aperture to what in the real world would be an unreasonable setting, to get near the results I'm expecting. And the focal distance seems completely off as well.

I'm sure there's got to be something I'm missing. Some little thing I'm failing to take into account. If someone could point it out to me, I can save a lot of time wasted fiddling! 

Post edited by Those Things on

Comments

• Eagle99Eagle99 Posts: 159
    edited October 2017

Some camera setting like F/Stop, ISO, Shutter Speed, etc. are controlled via the "Tone Mapping" in your "Render Settings" tab. This is where you can apply these "sunny 16" settings etc. .

This is valid for all cameras in you scene than.

The F/Stop in the Camera setting controls the depth of field.

In the "Display" settings of you camera you can set the "DOF Plane Visibility" to on. When "DOF" is on in the Camera Settings you can see the DOF planes and move them with the "F/Stop" setting of the camera.

While in perspective view and selecting the camera with the universal tool (Alt-Shift-U) you will also see the focus (Focal Distance) as a little ball and small boxes that control the DOF, frame width and focal length. So you can move these around with the mouse as well.

When selected with the standard nodes selection you can still the the focus of the camera as a little red/green/blue (x/y/z) cross and move it with the Focal Distance slider of your camera.

Kind regards, Eagle99

Post edited by Eagle99 on
  • Those ThingsThose Things Posts: 1,122