Is "Key Grip" compatible with the current Daz Studio?

edited December 1969 in New Users

http://www.daz3d.com/key-grip

It suppose to allow using the keyboard or joystick for moving the camera around (I assume the current view port, which I really need help with... I can't find any good ways of doing it in the system)

Does anyone know if it's still working, or if maybe there is an alternative IN the system already? google searching has not helped me :(

Comments

  • edited December 1969

    K... answer is no, when it launches it says Daz Studio 3, and then says 'The instalation path for Daz Studio could not be found.' and closes... that's very sad as I really don't like the way Daz camera works.

  • JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited December 1969

    Go to Edit > Customize (F3), and at the bottom of the window you will see how to set hot keys for Orbit, Rotate, Pan etc.

    There are already hotkeys set up for it, but you can change it to your own if you wish.

  • edited December 1969

    But they still rely on the mouse right? My problem is, when I use the mouse it goes extremely slow for some reason... and I can make it across 2 big monitors without picking up my mouse.. so I know it's not sensitivity.. cause I have that on high.

  • edited December 1969

    I found this: https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts/flycam which I'm working on fixing up to work in Daz 4

  • scotchfairyscotchfairy Posts: 54
    edited December 1969

    frack. It requires a numeric pad. I curse Apple for making us all move over to these stupid "magic" keyboards and mice. I'm going to have to buy a new ergo keyboard that can grok Apple's silly gestures (which must've been thought up by someone who didn't have to use the mouse all day).

    I agree, trying to move the camera view around the portal is weird and non-intuitive. Having to hold the mouse key down while the pointer is over the icon, THEN move the direction you want to go is just plain weird. And if your camera control cube is still up in the corner where it starts, there's usually not enough room to actually get the thing to rotate. It's a little easier using the graphics tablet, but it still sucks. And the Tool Tips instructions seem to have been copied straight over from the Windows version (LMB = Left, Middle Buttons, yes? Even the "Magic" mouse only has two buttons. I'll have to see what hotkeys are set, because I think that's why the "helpful" message confused me even more -- the normal alternate key combos for Left-Middle, Right-Middle and Left-Right didn't have any effect.

  • edited December 1969

    I'm working on figuring out the Daz script system... it's pretty easy, but poorly documented, once I figure it out I'll be posting a modifable way of doing it, even if clunky, I also prefer to use ASDW instead of the number pad, plus this versioni you have to press ALT and the number pads... (though I'm not sure why I can't find a reference to "alt" in the code)

  • edited December 1969

    Yay, I seem to have decifered what is going on, when you press alt + something, it tries to click the first button it finds that starts with that letter... alt 'e' will exit.. I changed the exit button to p-exit (that way they have to press alt p to exit..) I'm going to ASDW'fy all this and then throw the results here, I'm still not happy, trying to find a better way to 'listen' for keydown / keyup

  • edited December 1969

    http://pastebin.com/zTiBGz8p

    Original code modified from: https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts/flycam

    A and D does NOT strafe yet, I want to get the keys working first before I fix that, I prefer smooth movement vs this choppy method...

    If I can figure out how to intercept the mouse.. I may make it into a full FPS like control, if I can... and then I'll see about charging on the Daz market for it :)

    Ideally It would work with whatever you are using as a view, be it a camera or perspective.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,607
    edited April 2013

    there's a version of flycam i didnt publish which worked this way:

    i create a text field, and an event handler

     
        ed = new DzLineEdit( wDlg );
        connect( ed, "textChanged(const QString&)", textChanged );
    

    everytime a keypress is made in the text field, the handler processes that key and blanks the text field

    
    function textChanged( s )
    {
     if( s.length > 0 )
     {
      ed.text = "";
      switch(s.charAt(0))
      {
       case '1': bf1(); break; 
       case '2': bf2(); break; 
       case '3': bf3(); break; 
       case '4': bf4(); break; 
       case '5': bf5(); break; 
       case '6': bf6(); break; 
       case '7': bf7(); break; 
       case '8': bf8(); break; 
       case '9': bf9(); break; 
      }
     }
    }
    

    this lets you use non-ALT keys but has the little annoyance of having to explain to users they must first click in the blank text field

    ---
    note that not too long ago i posted a script and exe ( so it's not compatible with Macs ) to control nodes in Daz Studio using a gamepad ( https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts2/mcjhidkit ) and before that a script+exe to control using a Wii-remote+bluetooth (https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts/mcjwiikit-for-daz-studio-3-pc-version-zero-beta-not-stable-yet)

    although that's not something quick or easy to setup and use, i was able to get interesting camera work with them

    something to try on boring Sunday afternoons :)

    ============================================================================
    ============================================================================

    i'll be posting the modified Flycam script in a minute ...

    done: here : https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts/flycam
    ============================================================================
    ============================================================================

    mcjFlyCam.dsa_.png
    91 x 91 - 6K
    flynew.jpg
    406 x 351 - 20K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • edited December 1969

    Amazing, I was thinking the same thing, but I was thinking of detecting key down and key up's and that way run a timer and every nth second move in the direction that they had previously pressed.. that way they could press strafe right and move forward at the same time, or something like that.

    Yours is great though, I'll see what it's limitations are in a bit. Where did you get a list of connect() options?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,607
    edited December 1969

    jonathan said:
    Amazing, I was thinking the same thing, but I was thinking of detecting key down and key up's and that way run a timer and every nth second move in the direction that they had previously pressed.. that way they could press strafe right and move forward at the same time, or something like that.

    Yours is great though, I'll see what it's limitations are in a bit. Where did you get a list of connect() options?

    the timers were removed from Daz Studio 3 and 4, this kind'of broke flycam's pilot mode
    DS 1 and 2 had the timers

    with mcjHIDKit (PC), the joystick status messages are transmitted to Daz Studio up to 30 times per second,
    with some scripting it could turn daz studio into a flight simulator ...

    i may do it next summer

    with some small changes it could be any HID compatible mouse, instead of a gamepad

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,607
    edited April 2013

    jonathan said:
    Amazing, I was thinking the same thing, but I was thinking of detecting key down and key up's and that way run a timer and every nth second move in the direction that they had previously pressed.. that way they could press strafe right and move forward at the same time, or something like that.

    Yours is great though, I'll see what it's limitations are in a bit. Where did you get a list of connect() options?

    if you can get your hands on the Daz Scripting SDK for Daz Studio 3 it contains a very complete documentation
    90% of it is still valid for Daz Studio 4 -- The incompatibility occurs when you need to access the geometry of objects in the scene.

    the filename is DS3_DAZScriptDevelopmentKit_3.0.1.120_Win32.exe
    lets see if it's still floating on the net

    to get a list of data and function members of an object you can use this trick, which i saw attributed to Rob Whisenant

    
    wDlg = new DzDialog;
    ed = new DzLineEdit(wDlg);
    for( member in ed )
    {
     debug( member )
    }
    
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,607
    edited December 1969

    well this was a difficult search but i found it !

    http://docs.daz3d.com/lib/exe/fetch.php/public/software/dazstudio/3/ds3_daz_script_development_kit_3.0.1.144_docs.zip

    it's the documentation for the daz studio 3 scripting language

    most of it still works with daz studio 4

    many of the functions to access the geometry wont work

  • edited December 1969

    Thanks! I couldn't find it after searching for a few minutes. :O only found lots of dead links.

  • NaythanNaythan Posts: 1
    edited December 1969

    Since I just purchased the Key Grip plugin, and since it doesn't say anything about not working in other versions of DAZ, is it possible to get my money back?

  • ghastlycomicghastlycomic Posts: 2,531
    edited December 1969

    I had the exact same problem you did not long ago. Send Daz a support ticket to the sales department and they will refund it.

    I told them they should REALLY update the product listing so people will know it is for Daz 3 only. *sigh* so much for my being able to fly the camera with a joystick like it was my own little spy drone.

Sign In or Register to comment.