How can I make a glowing jewel in iray?

AliPopAliPop Posts: 42

So I want to have glowing gems/jewels in several instances, but despite days and day spent trying to learn iray lighting, I can't figure anything out. This is the type of thing I want visually.

So natrually I go and find a gem model I have access to, and set up a basic scene which can show light.

And then I apply an emission color to it and crank up the lumens to turn it on, so to speak, but, the results are not anywhere near useful.

The jewel loses it's definition, and basically looks like it's not even part of the scene. And doesn't really light the surrounding setup.

Crank it up another 10x and it's only kinda sorta lights the back wall I set up. Long story short, nothing about my approach is ideal. So is there any reasonable way to achieve the effect I want? And not a "do it in photoshop" answer because I can't pay for that. And I have zero knowledge of image editing like that. 

Post edited by AliPop on

Comments

• kaotkblisskaotkbliss Posts: 2,914

I think to get the look you are after in the first couple images, I would use a glass shader on the jewel, then add a point light inside the center of it.

• TheKDTheKD Posts: 2,677
    edited May 2020

Maybe try put a jewel material on it, then add a tiny primitive spere inside the jewel and put emission material on sphere. Dang, got ninja comented lol. Seems like I wasn't the only one with the kind of idea :)

Post edited by TheKD on
  • AliPopAliPop Posts: 42

So here is the result of that. I made a small sphere and stuck it inside, made the sphere's cutout opacity 0.0001 and gave it huge lumens.