Working with large scale differences

Hi all, I'm new to Daz 3D, and have been noodling around with some renders.  In some ways (kinematics, keyframe animation, posing controls, viewport handling) things haven't changed that much from years ago when I played with Poser for a while, but in other ways (especially render quality, figure quality, polygon counts, mesh resolutions, dForce, and available props/figures/materials/sets) it's a whole new world.  A good iRay render is a far cry from what I remember producing 10 years ago.

Anyway, it's taken me a few weeks to get comfortable with the interface and viewport controls, with the mysteries of domes and HDRI, not to mention the finnicky nature of lighting, and to figure out some of the quirks of iRay rendering and how to effectively use the content library.  I've put together some test scenes and it's looking pretty good, but for an upcoming scene I'm anticipating a problem I'd like some input on:

So let's say I want to put together a fantasy scene with significant scale differences among figures/objects, where you have a giant and some giant props, and some regular-sized figures and props, together in the same scene.  Let's say a 10:1 ratio, so the giant is about 60ft tall relative to the average 6ft figure.  I foresee issues navigating the viewport around a giant figure, and translations (viewport as well as figure) will likely be very slow and tedious, as it will move only very little in response to large inputs.  Also, given the infamous iRay "black eyes" issue that I've been experiencing and having to deal with by moving all my scenes around to put the eyes near world origin, what happens if the eyes are gigantic and widely spaced?  Haven't actually tried it yet, but I'm anticipating frustration.