Unable to allocate device memory - GTX 2080 Ti

I am fairly new to Daz, and have only recently been trying to render larger scenes involving 3 or more characters, and the render fails with a generic error message (an error occurred during render). Looking at the log I find the following entry:

2020-04-18 00:49:07.036 Iray [VERBOSE] - IRAY:RENDER ::   1.6   IRAY   rend progr: CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): Processing scene...
2020-04-18 00:49:07.332 Iray [VERBOSE] - IRAY:RENDER ::   1.5   IRAY   rend stat : Geometry memory consumption: 1.1742 GiB (device 0), 0 B (host)
2020-04-18 00:49:07.332 Iray [INFO] - IRAY:RENDER ::   1.5   IRAY   rend info : Using OptiX version 6.1.2
2020-04-18 00:49:07.444 Iray [INFO] - IRAY:RENDER ::   1.5   IRAY   rend info : Initializing OptiX for CUDA device 0
2020-04-18 00:51:06.041 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\pluginsource\DzIrayRender\dzneuraymgr.cpp(305): Iray [ERROR] - IRAY:RENDER ::   1.5   IRAY   rend error: Unable to allocate 5242884 bytes from 4652461260 bytes of available device memory

I saw the post here: https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/368406/unable-to-allocate-memory-exception-in-4-12-when-plenty-of-memory-available but one, I don't want to raise a post from six months ago, and the memory difference is much different - in my case I can't allocate 5MB out of 4.5GB available. This isn't a "remove a few characters" or "change a shader here and there". I have also run Windows metrics and the utility that came with the card when rendering to verify that there is over 4Gb free memory on the card at all times. I have reinstalled the drivers for the card as well, with no success.

What can I look at or try to get renders to work? Other 3D software such as Blender is able to render fairly complex scenes fairly easily.

Comments

• To be blunt, it doesn't matter if it's 5MB or 2.5GB if it can't allocate it, it can't allocate it.

You're just running out of vram.

Try increasing the available to over 6GB.